The Train Set

The Train Set first emerged on the indie music scene in the mid-80s, releasing two critically acclaimed 12″ singles on Dave Haslam’s and Nathan McGough’s Playhard label, going on to tour with the Happy Mondays (Bummed Tour) and gigs with James and others at places like The Hacienda, Astoria and Dingwalls, London. The CD album ‘Never California’ featuring a dozen finely crafted songs was released in 2015 on Firestation Records and is now available on vinyl . The CD has earned amazing reviews and plays worldwide and on BBC Radio 6 shows such as Radcliffe and Maconie, Chris Hawkins, Gideon Coe and Tom Robinson.

In autumn 2016, the band made a welcomed return to the live music circuit, with their first gigs for over 27 years and went on to play at the Shiiine On Weekender in November, sharing the main stage with The House of Love and Echo and the Bunnymen.

Back in the mid to late eighties The Train Set emerged from Crewe to make an impact on the Manchester and Liverpool gig circuit as well as the national music press.

They were featured in both the NME and Melody Maker through interviews and features by Stuart Maconie and Robin Denslow.

The compilation album ‘Never California’, released on Firestation Records, features The Train Set’s highly sought after single ‘She’s Gone’ which was the band’s first record, recognised as a stunning debut by the press and selected as NME’s ‘Single of the Week’ when it was originally released in 1988. Writing in NME, James Brown said “The Train Set have done their growing up in private and will now have no trouble copping off with the entire teenage nation of orphaned Smiths fans”. Stuart Maconie described ‘She’s Gone’ as “sleek and shiny, fizzy and witty”, predicting “The Train Set will be huge when the world sees sense”. Well, whilst we wait for the world to take heed, immerse yourself in these finely crafted songs and enjoy a band that made a significant impact on the music scene amongst the abundant indie/jangle bands of that era.

The album contains tracks from a band that had promised so much but disappeared far too soon. The members have recently come together to oversee the release of this album and to play live again providing an opportunity to discover The Train Set’s material again, or perhaps for the first time.

Tom Hingley’s Book ‘Carpet Burns’….”The Train Set’s She’s Gone is one of Noel’s (Gallagher) favourite songs: he used to have the song on a compilation cassette that he brought on tour with us in 1989.

Everything Indie over 40 – Esther – “The Train Set’s songs are as fresh-sounding as any good music released today”.

Never California’ is a collection of their EPs and unreleased songs, but with all strong tracks, this may as well be a greatest hits release. The generous stretches of music must have come off great at their gigs, something I hope new fans will get a chance to experience.


‘Any Britpop fanatic (I know there are a few of you) and anyone who worships the mantle of Ian Curtis, Steven Patrick Morrissey, Johnny Marr, Ian Brown and John Squire should love The Train Set’s latest release. If not, then please throw your music snob card out the window, and go hide in whatever miserable cave you came from.’

A first listen will show the Train Set’s incredible talent, and you’ll know why Noel Gallagher, formerly from Oasis, holds them in such high regard.

  • Hold On
  • She’s Gone
  • Stop Stalling (Sob Stories)
  • Untouchable
  • All Blown Over (The Recall)
  • That’s All
  • Sink or Swim
  • Harped On
  • Gets Me Down
  • Beautiful Monster
  • Tell Us
  • The Recall (All Blown Over)